Enhanced Rabies Surveillance Area


We are unable to accept rabies vector species from any counties that are listed as an “Enhanced Rabies Surveillance Area.” According to the amendments to Wildlife Rehabilitation Regulation (301 KAR 2:075), it is illegal to possess, obtain, or accept any rabies vector species from an Enhanced Rabies Surveillance Area. It is also illegal to transport from these specified counties.


Rabies Vector Species include: Coyotes, Grey & Red Foxes, Raccoons, Spotted & Striped Skunks.


“Enhanced rabies surveillance area” means Bell, Boyd, Bracken, Carter, Clay, Elliot, Fleming, Floyd, Greenup, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Martin, Mason, McCreary, Pike, Perry, Robertson, and Whitley counties.


More information can be found by clicking here. If you have any questions or concerns you can contact Kentucky Fish & Wildlife Resources by going to their website or by calling them at 1-800-858-1549.